We use cookies to improve your experience on our Website. We need cookies to continuously improve the services, to enable certain features and when embedding services or content of third parties, such as video player. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. We use different types of cookies. You can personalize your cookie settings here:

Only cookies permitted that are required for the basic functionality of our websites.
Permit cookies that help us to analyse the page views and user behavior on our websites. We only use this information for improving our services.
Permit embedded content and cookies from third party providers. This setting enables the full use of our web services (e.g. displaying videos).
Please find more information in our privacy statement.

There you may also change your settings later.

Diabetes – A Widespread Disease

Diabetes mellitus is one of the most widespread diseases in Germany. Approximately six million people have the disease, and it is estimated that just as many are unaware of their condition or are at high risk for developing the disease.

According to United Nations estimates, by the year 2040 the number of people worldwide with diabetes will increase by more than 50 percent – from 415 million today to approximately 642 million people. Diabetes is the first noninfectious disease that the United Nations has declared to be a global threat. Analog to the increase in cases worldwide, the incidence of diabetes mellitus in Germany has risen sharply over the last 50 years. According to current prognoses, the incidence will continue to rise even more rapidly in the future.

The strong increase in incidence not only of type 2 diabetes in the aging population, but also of type 1 diabetes will present major challenges to the German health system in the coming years.

The German Center for Diabetes Research (DZD) seeks to investigate the causes of the disease and, through new scientific findings, to develop effective prevention and treatment measures to halt the emergence or progression of diabetes.

Information for patients

Diabetesinformationsdienst München
Up-to-date, scientifically proven information from all areas of diabetes research and medicine, register of interested parties for participation in clinical studies
(German only)

Diabetesinformationsdienst
News, background information and practical tips with "Diabetes Cockpit" for BMI, blood pressure and blood glucose levels as well as video platform "DIABETES - NOT ONLY A TYPE QUESTION"
(German only)

DiabetesDE
Health organization that actively promotes the interests of people with diabetes, their families and high-risk patients
(German only)

Deutsche Diabetes Stiftung
Promotion of scientific research and social projects, information and education
(German only)

Professional Association DDG

The German Diabetes Society / Die Deutsche Diabetes Gesellschaft (DDG)

With more than 9,000 members, the German Diabetes Society (Deutsche Diabetes Gesellschaft DDG) is one of the largest medical-scientific societies in Germany. It supports science and research, is involved in further education and training, certifies treatment facilities and develops guidelines. The goal is more effective prevention and treatment of the widespread disease diabetes, which affects more than six million people in Germany. To this end, it also undertakes extensive health policy activities.

Further Information

Explanation videos (German language; DDZ)

Wir verwenden Cookies um Ihnen den Besuch der Webseite so angenehm wie möglich zu machen. Wir benötigen Cookies um die Dienste ständig zu verbessern, bestimmte Features zu ermöglichen und wenn wir Dienste bzw. Inhalte Dritter einbetten, wie beispielsweise den Videoplayer. Durch die Nutzung unserer Webseite stimmen Sie der Nutzung von Cookies zu. Wir verwenden unterschiedliche Arten von Cookies. Hier haben Sie die Möglichkeit, Ihre Cookie-Einstellungen zu personalisieren:

Es werden nur Cookies zugelassen, die für die grundlegende Funktionalität unserer Webseiten benötigt werden.
Es werden auch Cookies zugelassen, die uns ermöglichen, Seitenzugriffe und Nutzerverhalten auf unseren Webseiten zu analysieren. Diese Informationen verwenden wir ausschließlich dazu, unseren Service zu optimieren.
Es werden auch Inhalte und Cookies von Drittanbietern zugelassen. Mit dieser Einstellung können Sie unser komplettes Webangebot nutzen (z.B. das Abspielen von Videos).
In unserer Datenschutzerklärung finden Sie weitere Informationen.

Dort können Sie Ihre Cookie-Einstellungen jederzeit ändern.

Volkskrankheit Diabetes

Der Diabetes mellitus gehört mit rund sechs Millionen Patienten und mit vermutlich ebenso vielen Menschen mit unerkanntem Diabetes oder hohem Risiko für diese Stoffwechselerkrankung zu den größten Volkskrankheiten in Deutschland.

Schätzungen der Vereinten Nationen gehen davon aus, dass bis zum Jahr 2040 die Zahl der weltweit an Diabetes erkrankten Menschen von jetzt 415 Millionen um mehr als 50 Prozent auf etwa 642 Millionen ansteigen wird. Diabetes wurde deshalb von den Vereinten Nationen als erste nicht durch eine Infektion ausgelöste Erkrankung zu einer globalen Bedrohung der Menschheit erklärt.

Ebenso wie weltweit hat in Deutschland die Häufigkeit von Diabetes mellitus in den letzten 50 Jahren stark zugenommen. Nach aktuellen Prognosen wird sie künftig noch schneller ansteigen.

Die starke Zunahme nicht nur des Diabetes Typ 2 in der alternden Bevölkerung, aber auch des Diabetes Typ 1 stellt das deutsche Gesundheitssystem in den kommenden Jahren vor große Herausforderungen.

Ein Ziel des Deutschen Zentrums für Diabetesforschung (DZD)  ist es, nach Ursachen zu forschen und durch neue wissenschaftliche Ergebnisse wirksame Präventions- und Behandlungsmaßnahmen zu entwickeln und so der Entstehung bzw. dem Fortschreiten des Diabetes Einhalt zu gebieten.


Informationen für Patienten

Diabetesinformationsdienst München
Aktuelle, wissenschaftlich geprüfte Information aus allen Bereichen der Diabetesforschung und Medizin, Interessentenregister zur Teilnahme an Klinischen Studien

Diabetesinformationsdienst
News, Hintergrundinformationen und Praxistipps mit "Diabetes-Cockpit" für BMI, Blutdruck und Blutglukosewert sowie Videoplattform "DIABETES – NICHT NUR EINE TYP-FRAGE"
(ehemals "Diabetes heute")

DiabetesDE
Gesundheitsorganisation, die sich aktiv für die Interessen von Menschen mit Diabetes, deren Angehörige sowie Risikopatienten einsetzt

Deutsche Diabetes Stiftung
Förderung wissenschaftlicher Forschung und sozialer Projekte, Information und Aufklärung

Fachgesellschaft DDG

Die Deutsche Diabetes Gesellschaft (DDG)

Die Deutsche Diabetes Gesellschaft (DDG) ist mit mehr als 9.000 Mitgliedern eine der großen medizinisch-wissenschaftlichen Fachgesellschaften in Deutschland. Sie unterstützt Wissenschaft und Forschung, engagiert sich in Fort- und Weiterbildung, zertifiziert Behandlungseinrichtungen und entwickelt Leitlinien. Ziel ist eine wirksamere Prävention und Behandlung der Volkskrankheit Diabetes, von der mehr als sechs Millionen Menschen in Deutschland betroffen sind. Zu diesem Zweck unternimmt sie auch umfangreiche gesundheitspolitische Aktivitäten.